Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller Book Cover

Review: Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller

“You should only stare at the ground if you’re giving up.”

Official Synopsis from Goodreads

Sallot Leon is a thief, and a good one at that. But gender fluid Sal wants nothing more than to escape the drudgery of life as a highway robber and get closer to the upper-class―and the nobles who destroyed their home.

When Sal steals a flyer for an audition to become a member of The Left Hand―the Queen’s personal assassins, named after the rings she wears―Sal jumps at the chance to infiltrate the court and get revenge.

But the audition is a fight to the death filled with clever circus acrobats, lethal apothecaries, and vicious ex-soldiers. A childhood as a common criminal hardly prepared Sal for the trials. And as Sal succeeds in the competition, and wins the heart of Elise, an intriguing scribe at court, they start to dream of a new life and a different future, but one that Sal can have only if they survive.

Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller Book Cover

GENRE: Young Adult
FORMAT: E-pub / Kindle Edition
PUBLICATION DATE:  September 5th 2017 by Sourcebooks Fire
GET A COPY: Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Book Depository

 

THOUGHTS

If you know me especially in real life, then you probably are aware that I love Sarah J. Maas! Well, Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller is so much like Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass and it sometimes felt a little bit like Suzanne Collin’s Hunger Games too! Wowza. Super cool right?

However, this book, to me, is unoriginal in so many ways. I feel like I’ve read it a couple of times already in different books and this quite eliminated the excitement I was supposed to be experiencing while I was in the middle of reading an extremely anticipated book. 😦

World Building

The overall world building in this book is slightly underdeveloped for me but I think this will improve in the next book because, hey, it’s not bad at all in the first place! The palace, chambers, and the world where the story took place still seem real, even for a fantasy book. And it’s impressive!

Characters.

Oh right. Sallot Leon, the first gender fluid character I’ve encountered in a literature (or maybe I just wasn’t reading that much), is flirty, witty and can sometimes be annoyingly arrogant. Both an assassin and a thief, Sallot Leon could pass as Celaena Sardothien and Mare Barrow’s (from Victoria Aveyard’s Red Queen) love child. Hehe.

Love Celaena Sardothien? Then, read this! 😉

Photo: #MaskofShadows from SOURCEBOOKS Fire

Photo grabbed from SOURCEBOOKS Fire

Sal also likes to be referred to as he/she/they depending on what they’re wearing.

“I dress how I like to be addressed—he, she or they. It’s simple enough. “

“And you can call me a “she” when I dress like this. I dress how I am.” Which was fine by me. I wore a dress, and people treated me like a girl. I wore trousers and one of those floppy-collared men’s shirts and they treated me like a boy. No annoying questions or fights over it. “And if you dress like neither?” Emerald asked. “They,” I said.

Most everyone else wanted me to pick one, make addressing me easier on them by denying myself. I was already dressing so they could get it right. The least they could do was try. I didn’t see why had to choose.

“Address me however I look.” I was both. I was neither. I was everything.

Sal gave a voice—and a loud one—to gender fluid people in real life and this is what I love the most about this book! Gender fluid, bisexuals, gays, and lesbians aren’t new in this society. They existed long before and have now gathered all the strength to not take a shih from anyone anymore. Yaaas!

Proper representation is very important especially in the world we live in right now and this is done right in this particular novel.

On the other hand, the supplementary characters didn’t make a huge impact… for me. The way Sal and her opponents are called by numbers (Sal is Twenty Three and others are called Two or Four) instead of by their real names is really confusing.

I think this is the reason why I didn’t feel attached to them at all or even remember them. I wish they were called by their regular names instead. Others, like Grell da Sousa, Elise de Farone, Lady dal Abreu and Nicolas del Contes have really elegant names so Sal and her rivals being called by numbers is quite disappointing for me.

The instant love between Elise de Farone, the one they robbed at the very first chapter of the book who ended up as their tutor, and Sallot Leon is tolerable at least but there are some scenes that have put a frown on my face. This romance thing could’ve been a lot better and I wish there were other love interests for Sal to level up the excitement and to keep readers like me hooked a little bit more.

MXCAREYES Book Blog: MASK OF SHADOWS BY LINSEY MILLER book review

Plot

Clichés. Like I said earlier, almost everything that happened in this book I’ve seen/read before both in real life and in different novels. Again, this feels like Throne of Glass but Sarah J. Maas and Linsey Miller have different writing styles and both are good in their own ways but I found Maas’ writing more captivating and professional not because I like her so much but because it really just is. But considering the fact that Maas is not new in this fantasy writing thing, Miller’s writing style is not dreadful at least!

Just like the Throne of Glass and other fantasy books, this book is filled with training scenes as well. Even though this is a fast-paced book, I felt like nothing big really happened here and the disappointment I felt when I realized this is the same as the disappointment I felt while reading Veronica Roth’s Carve the Mark.

Mask of Shadows is filled with just training, eating, and Sallot Leon’s repetitive rants and musings about how she hates Erlend, the land of her enemies, for the same reasons other hero/heroines in other books rant.

Another thing: the ending was given away in the synopsis. The ending was expected and predictable already and giving it away made this book less interesting since you’ll know what will and is supposed to happen.

Despite my minor complaints about this book, I think this is still worth reading if you’re in for a fun ride. The representation is amazing and this is overall entertaining. It wasn’t that bad if you can tolerate familiarity. I still recommend this book and I think I am still going to read the next book because I am really curious about what will happen next, especially to Sallot and Elise.

Maybe Mask of Shadows #2 is a lot better, right?

I recommend this book to people who enjoyed reading the Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J. Maas, Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard and to anyone who likes assassins, bloody competitions, diversity and strong protagonists.

RATING: Black flower png Black flower png Black flower png

 OTHER REVIEW LINKS: GOODREADS / NETGALLEY


Note: This review is based on an eBook I received courtesy of the Netgalley iconpublisher, SOURCEBOOKS Fire via NetGalley.


LET'S CHAT | Want to say something? Any violent reactions? Let me know everything. I wanna hear what you gotta say!

Have you read Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller? Did you like it? What are the other books that tell an LGBTQ love story that you know and would like to recommend? Tell me all about it in the comments section below! 🙂

Before you go, I’d like to invite you to join me on Twitter (@MXCAREYES), Instagram (@BEYONZEH)and Pinterest (/MXCAREYES). See ya!I have something for you guys. Wanna play?

Which Queen’s Assassin Are You?

Click on the graphic below to take the quiz and find out! Have fuuun! 🙂
Take the Quiz! Which Queen's Assassin Are You? | Photo courtesy of SOURCEBOOKS Fire

MEET LINSEY MILLER

Photo of Linsey Miller

 

A wayward biology student from Arkansas, Linsey has previously worked as a crime lab intern, neuroscience lab assistant, and pharmacy technician. Her debut novel MASK OF SHADOWS is the first in a fantasy duology coming in September 2017 from Sourcebooks Fire. She can be found writing about science and magic anywhere there is coffee.

Twitter / Instagram / Website


FIND ME ON: TWITTER / INSTAGRAM

9 comments

  1. I may give this one a miss, there doesn’t seem too much to recommend it, or maybe I am just getting old and jaded. However if the series gets better as it goes along I will reconsider, being very good like that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

