The Books I Bought at National Bookstore’s First Ever Book Binge Bazaar

So, you guys… I’m alive! After not blogging for a couple of months because of my major book slump and massive writer’s block, I’m finally back. How’s everyone?

Four days ago, I attended National Bookstore’s first ever Book Binge Bazaar with my brother and a friend. This bazaar was held last February 9-11, 2018 at Megatrade Hall 3, 5th floor of Mega B in SM Megamall.

I was running some important errands when my friend informed me about this event. To be completely honest, I wasn’t planning to go when I heard about. I wasn’t even excited at all. Also, I’m planning to spend all my money on my new-found passion: skin care products. Lol haha! I wasn’t interested until I sat down and stalked National Bookstore (NBS) on Instagram (@nbsalert).

Image result for you little devil gif

NBS has kept on tempting and hitting me in my weakest areas and it was seriously so annoying! Hahaha. They have repeatedly posted photos of happy bookworms with their mountain of books and I, being a weak lil jealous baby that I am, have no choice but to let those beautiful digital distractions trick me into buying myself some books, too! I mean, what else can I do?

Ugghh, NBS! Now you know how to get people like me to participate in the party…

Okay, okay. These past months, I haven’t really indulged myself in books or any book-buying activities anyway so I think it’s only fair that I allowed myself to do that this time, right?

So, without further ado, I present to you the fruits of my labor (and jealousy). Let’s get’s started!

The Books I Bought at National Bookstore’s First Ever Book Binge Bazaar

1.| Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

I lost count of how many times I saw Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick during the Book Binge Bazaar. This book was literally everywhere. When I picked this up, I was just mainly enchanted by the book cover– I didn’t know the story. I just also found out that this book was written by the author of the Hush, Hush saga, which I haven’t read yet as well. I’m not so much into thrillers, but I’m excited to read this one.

2.| Cruel Beauty and Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge

Cruel Beauty and Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge

Cruel Beauty and Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge

When I arrived at the Book Binge Bazaar last Sunday morning, I wasn’t expecting to see these gems resting on the shelves. Unlike Black Ice, both Cruel Beauty and Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge have very few stocks only so I immediately picked one for each title. Cruel Beauty only has a few copies scattered all over the venue while I only saw one copy of Crimson Bound (the one I picked) there. It might either be because there are literally only a few copies of these books or I arrived later than I thought. Either way, I’m very happy I got them both.

I heard Cruel Beauty is a Beauty and the Beast retelling, much like my favorite book called A Court of Thorns and Roses (ACOTAR) by Sarah J. Maas so I’m really, really excited to read this one A.S.A.P!

3.| Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

Speaking of Sarah J. Maas, Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5) is also there. I mean, there is even an entire shelf wall dedicated to this book. Too bad I wasn’t able to take a photo. It occupied at least 1/4 of one side of the venue. Not only that, there are also scattered copies all over the place. Most of the bookworms I saw there are holding at least one copy of this book too. Ugh, I can only think of how well-loved Sarah J. Maas and her books are here in the Philippines!

As of now, I have only read up to Throne of Glass #2 but it is enough for me to love that talented author. I swear, if my friend hadn’t introduced her books to me, I wouldn’t have known what life is! Her books are life! Queen Sarah stole my fairytale-obsessed heart. And I’m not complaining!

4.| In the After Light by Alexandra Bracken

In the After Light by Alexandra Bracken

In the After Light by Alexandra Bracken

I’ve been dying to buy The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken, so I’m thrilled to see this third book in the series.

I saw online that some bookworms got The Darkest Minds #2 from the Bazaar. I’m so sad because I wasn’t able to find a copy when I was there but it’s okay. I still wish I have one too, though. Next time.

5.| Sanctum by Madeleine Roux

Sanctum by Madeleine Roux

Sanctum by Madeleine Roux

Asylum Series. Who doesn’t know it?

I’m unfortunate to miss the release wave of this series, but I’m glad I was still able to grab Sanctum (Asylum #2) by Madeleine Roux during the Book Binge Bazaar. The stocks of the said series were pretty scarce, but the novella version wasn’t. I saw The Asylum Novellas pretty much everywhere in the place, but I wasn’t able to pick one. I think I have to read the series first.

6.| Slasher Girls and Monster Boys by April Genevieve Tucholke (Editor and Contributor)

Slasher Girls and Monster Boys by April Genevieve Tucholke

Slasher Girls and Monster Boys by April Genevieve Tucholke

This book is a compilation of some of the authors I know, so I’m excited to read this during my insufficient free time!

7.| The 5th Wave and The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey

The 5th Wave and The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey

The 5th Wave and The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey

These books are giving off Divergent vibes. I’m excited to read this to find out if the two series are similar or not. P.S. Please don’t spoil me! Hehe.

See Also: Divergent by Veronica Roth Book Review

8.| The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas

The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas

The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas

I’ve seen The Darkest Corners online way too much, so I’m delighted that I got this book for a very affordable amount.

Side note: The author, Kara Thomas, liked my post of my book haul on Instagram. You can see the photo below. Hihi.

9.| The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid

The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid

The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid

The Diabolic! Oh, yes! I first heard of this one when I was watching one of Sasha Alsberg’s Youtube videos. This book gained popularity online and I’m excited to know how this will fare for me. Crossed fingers…

10.| The Last Boy and Girl in the World by Siobhan Vivian

The Last Boy and Girl in the World by Siobhan Vivian

The Last Boy and Girl in the World by Siobhan Vivian

First of all, this book’s cover is so, so chic and pleasing to the eyes. (Am I the only one who thinks so?) I got this straight from one of National Bookstore’s pushcart guy because I can’t wait ’til he put this on display any longer!

I think the story is just light, making it a perfect to read while I’m on the bus. Oh, the things I do to help myself! 

11.| Wind/Pinball by Haruki Murakami

Wind/Pinball by Haruki Murakami

Wind/Pinball by Haruki Murakami

Haruki Murakami is pretty famous here in the Philippines and his books are super expensive too! I know NBS is really up to something when they included this in the Book Binge Bazaar. I’m so happy they did!

And last but not the least is

12.| Essential Korean Vocabulary by Kyubyong Park

Essential Korean Vocabulary by Kyubyong Park

Essential Korean Vocabulary by Kyubyong Park

If you know me, especially in real life, you know that I am obsessed with K-pop and K-dramas. NO SHAME. This has been going on for almost a year now and I’ve gotten really interested in Korea’s language and culture.

These days, whenever I’m just at home doing nothing, I’m trying to practice Hangul, the Korean alphabet.

When I saw this book during the three-day Book Binge Bazaar, I immediately left two YA books (I’m so sorry) to buy this one instead. So far, I’m liking this book although I realized it is too advanced for me.

If you’re ever wondering how good these 14 books (for only Php 2, 400) look together, here’s an Instagram photo I took days ago. Hihi.

(Please ignore Cassandra Clare’s Lord of Shadows though. My brother and I bought it on the same day but from Fullybooked.)

https://www.instagram.com/p/BfDvwM-DCxH/?taken-by=beyonzeh

Before I end this narrative, I would just like to address two issues that are really bothering me up to this day:

1. I found out that there were people who bought books just to re-sell them. And that’s okay. What’s not okay is buying multiple copies of a sometimes limited title. (We, bookworms, know what’s that for. We weren’t born yesterday.)

Bookworms went there to atleast be able to buy one copy of the book they want but they weren’t able to because the copies are all already bought (by one person or one group). I heard some even bought 10 copies and had bookworms crying (internally) behind the cashier. I truly empathize with these sad bookworms. Imagine travelling for hours to go there only to be left with titles that’s not the one they went there for. I wish NBS would have a 2 books max per title policy (one for self and one for a friend) to prevent “book scalpers” from getting everything in one go.

2. Books on sale often have Pentel pen marks on the side of the books. Some marks are only a single dot but some look like check marks or something. And it is really upsetting. :(.

I know these books are on sale but I hope people marking them should at least minimize the disrespect. You know what I’m saying?

If the books really need to be marked, a tiny dot is fine. I can totally handle it. But a check mark or an inch-long straight line? Please, no. Please don’t make our on-sale books dirty-looking.

When bookworms shop for books, we often put into consideration the state of the book because after all, we’re paying for them. Don’t we deserve decent, mark-free affordable books?

On a lighter note, I saw some mark-free books in very good condition. I hope every book that goes on sale is like this. Please, NBS, go ahead, make our day! I know you will. 🙂

Related image

National Bookstore’s first-ever Book Binge Bazaar has been successful and I’m really surprised how organized the event was given that there were many people who attended and bought so many books.

The long line was worth it. Carrying heavy books was worth it. Waking up early and travelling for hours to buy these precious books are all worth it!

If I had more money, I would definitely go to the Book Binge Bazaar every single day. Seeing my favorite books go unbought by me just because I didn’t go on the first two days of the bazaar really broke my heart. But it’s okay, I guess you really can’t have everything…

Still, two thumbs up for National Bookstore for making this happen! Looking forward to the next Book Binge Bazaar. I definitely need to ready myself and my wallet for this!

lets chat

Did you attend the recently concluded Book Binge Bazaar? What are the books in your recent book haul? Let me know in the comments section below!

3 comments

  1. I completely missed this, despite going in every time I head into a mall. It was probably a good thing though as I have lots to read at the moment, thanks to people bringing books over from Europe. To be consistent as always I haven’t read any of these books, nor heard of them, although Murakami is a name familiar to me. It is horrible about the reselling, when genuine readers just go to look for a book to get lost in.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha. Dont worry, Ste! I heard National Bookstore will be having a #BookBingeBazaar part two. 🙃 Are you and your wife going?

      Also, have you heard about the Big Bad Wolf sale that is on going right now at the World Trade Center (Philippines)? There are super huge deals on that sale and they are selling 2 Million books til Feb 25! 😜 Aaand not only YA books are there! Thats really THE deal haha. Did you go there or are you planning to?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I heard about the Big Bad Wolf sale last night, I will see if I can talk the wife into going to that at some point. I have been very sparing with book buying so far but would love to pick up some of the local literature. Tradewinds bookshop in Intramuros is a treasure trove of good books!

        Like

Leave a comment